Mail Balloting


All townships, and cities having fewer than 400 registered voters on June 1 of an election year, may apply to the county auditor for permission to conduct balloting by mail. Mail balloting is authorized by resolution of the governing body and remains in effect for subsequent state and county elections until it is revoked.

Ballots will be sent to all registered voters in the mail ballot precincts no more than 46 days and no later than 14 days before a regularly scheduled election for federal, state, and county elections. A postage-paid return mailing envelope, a ballot secrecy envelope and instructions for marking and returning ballots will be included with each ballot.

Check to see if you are registered to vote by visiting the Secretary of State website under the Voter Information Portal (


Vote by Absentee

If you are absent from your precinct during the mail balloting period, you can still vote by absentee. Apply online for an absentee ballot application on the Secretary of State website under the Voter Information Portal ( or in person at the Big Stone County Auditor’s office. You may also request an application be mailed to you.


Mail Ballot Precincts

The following cities and townships will be conducting their elections by mail balloting:


  • Barry
  • Beardsley
  • Clinton
  • Correll
  • Johnson
  • Odessa



  • Akron
  • Almond
  • Artichoke
  • Big Stone
  • Browns Valley
  • Foster
  • Graceville Twp
  • Malta
  • Moonshine
  • Odessa Twp
  • Ortonville Twp
  • Otrey
  • Prior
  • Toqua


Election Day Polling Place Location

In the event you did not receive or return your mail ballot, you can still vote on election day at the Big Stone County Auditor-Treasurer Office.

Big Stone County Courthouse 20 2nd Street SE

Ortonville, MN 56278

8 AM to 8 PM



If you would like to vote in person, bring your ballot you received in the mail into the Auditor- Treasurer Office. Do not throw away your ballot. If you need a replacement ballot, contact our office.